jaealabama.blogg.se

Bebe buell
Bebe buell












bebe buell

It's got texture.ĭo people ever say, "I knew your name from the gossip magazines, but it turns out you're an amazing rocker"? Because I've seen you and you are great! It's very stripped down-it's not a full-on rock experience, it's a little bit more theater I have a duo-but it's very powerful. The songs stop for stories or sometimes the songs ARE the stories. People always say that "It girls" or "wild children" all went to Catholic boarding school. We're going all the way back to when I came to New York, with tiny references to my childhood-my years in Catholic boarding school and all of that.

bebe buell

Do you talk about your childhood in your show? Well, they were red, but lately, they've been blue, so that's cool. I was born and raised in the South-in Virginia. We have a great mayor and incredible drag queens, great food, great people.

BEBE BUELL PATCH

But Nashville is a patch of blue in a red state. There's an energy and vibrancy like New York in the '70s and '80s. You can walk into any place in this town and even if it's a honky tonk, the person up there singing is going to be really good. It's like going back to school when you come to a place like Nashville. But I wanted to go somewhere I could be challenged and learn something. I got a little angry, but I didn't want to shut myself off from music or what I'm trying to do in my life. We got to live in New York before Giuliani. The time's never coming back, as we all know.

bebe buell

I have my passionate followers that come to my shows and have watched me grow and you'll still have everyone that associates me with pop culture, the 70s, rock and roll. I love being called "cult mommy," as my daughter Liv calls me. When it came true-four sold-out shows later…I know I'm not a household name. I didn't know if I'd be accepted here or play the Bluebird Café and other places I dreamed of doing. It's always going to be the most important audience for me.īut you've had a great time in Nashville? When you've lived in a city like New York since you were 18, you can leave but you can't completely leave in your heart. I have to hand it to the energy here for helping me get to a place where I can do a show like this, and I feel like I'm ready to bring it home to the big guys and NYC, which is where my real critics are. That's what my move has been-my opportunity to go to finishing school and hone in my writing and music. I've been working on it and forming it for about a year. I've done it three times here in Nashville. Is this the first time you're doing this show? She'll mix her songs in with stories and anecdotes, while backed by her new duo, the Rebel Souls, featuring her husband, guitarist Jimmy Walls, and drummer Mindy Wright. Bebe moved to Nashville a few years ago, but she's coming back to NYC with her new show, a rock-cabaret aptly called Baring it All, at Joe's Pub on Tuesday, April 4th and Wednesday, April 5th at 9:30 PM. She also happens to be a rocker with a flair for full-throttle musicalizing while unselfconsciously baring her soul. Bebe Buell is so much more than just a friend to everyone in the biz, an ex to Steven Tyler and mother to Liv.














Bebe buell